The Boys

Happy Birthday

This Saturday we’re celebrating my oldest sons birthday. He’s at the beach with his dad for the week. I miss him! Its only been 2 days, but I still miss him. 8 years ago, I gave birth to him and I’m not with him on this day. Missing him is understandable.

Funny thing, I was talking to his dad the other day when he picked him up to go fishing with his cub scouts. I asked if he got the address to the pavilion and he said he did but wondered if it was walking distance from the entrance. I didn’t know because I’ve never been to the place. He said, “Yes you have! We went there when Jayden was 1 years old. They had a kid event with a live band and he had his first hamburger.” I was so confused. I don’t know how he could remember all of that with detail but I couldn’t remember a single thing. For a moment, I thought he had me confused with someone else. How could I not remember anything about that day but I can remember every single detail of the day I gave birth 8 years ago.

July 8, 2009… It was a hot day and I was huge. Nothing fit anymore. The bottom part of my belly was always exposed. I was feeling a tremendous amount of pressure that day, so I took it easy, ate dinner and watched some TV. I was keeping track every time I felt tightness and it was sporadic. I thought maybe these where Braxton Hicks and not contractions. Since I wasn’t sure, I called my mom. She and my family were on vacation. They were coming back home the next morning. She told me to take it easy and to keep timing. If they get more consistent then to call the doctor. I went to bed and slept terrible from the amount of pressure I was feeling. It was early when I got up and realized the tightness and pressure became more consistent. I timed 8 seconds long, 4 minutes apart. These were contractions. We put our bags in the car and were off to the hospital.

Everything went by so fast. I was checked in, admitted and examined in a flash. Before I knew it, I was given the epidural and quickly became 7 centimeters dilated. My family were on their way back, but there was traffic. I was ok with that because I didn’t want them in the room anyway while I was pushing and didn’t know how to tell them that without hurting anyone’s feelings.

It was time to get things started. I pushed a few times and I definitely remember taking a shit on the table. My doctor didn’t tell me, I could smell it. I was so embarrassed and instantly regretted eating whatever I had for dinner the night before, but the show must go on. At 3:35pm, Jayden was born and placed on top of my belly. His entire body was a slight purple and he felt warm and wet. He was crying loudly but it was so soft to hear. I said hi and kissed his head while his dad cut the cord. The nurse took him to suction the fluid from his mouth and nose, then wrapped him in a blanket and gave him back to me. I held him and studied his perfect face. I loved him instantly.

It was time to feed him shortly after delivery. I chose to bottle feed. I wasn’t educated about the benefits of breast milk at the time. I was 20 years old and no one told me it was best for my baby. I didn’t even consider it. I do wish I would have at least tried.

8 years later, so much has changed of course. Jayden is going into 3rd grade. He’s an awesome big brother and has 2 dads in his life. I know he is having a blast at the beach right now. He loves the pool, going in the ocean and playing put put golf. When he comes back home at the end of the week, we will celebrate and have the best birthday party an 8 year old could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

